Ability to Pay

Keyword search across all of the laws in the states. Subject-area tabs above allow you to narrow results. Click the advanced search for further refinement.

Every law can be saved to the Reform Builder  

See all ability to pay policy recommendations in CJPP’s Policy Guide

Below are the ability to pay laws that meet your search criteria. Many include a See related provisions prompt which searches our database for laws that may pertain to your result.

446 Results

Export results to Excel

State Statute Description/Statute Name Statutory language Level of offense Definition of ability to pay Timeline Burden of proof Method of determination Mandatory Remedies if unable to pay
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §776.085(4)(b) Defense to civil action for damages; party convicted of forcible or attempted forcible felony
The court shall award a reasonable attorney’s fee to be paid to the prevailing party in equal amounts by the losing party and the losing party’s attorney; however, the losing
+ See more
party’s attorney is not personally responsible if he or she has acted in good faith, based on the representations of his or her client. If the losing party is incarcerated for the crime or attempted crime and has insufficient assets to cover payment of the costs of the action and the award of fees pursuant to this paragraph, the party shall, as determined by the court, be required to pay by deduction from any payments the prisoner receives while incarcerated.
All

Inability to pay: Has insufficient assets to cover payment

Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Payment deduction

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §806.13(6)(c) Criminal mischief; penalties; penalty for minor
If a minor commits a delinquent act prohibited under paragraph (a), the parent or legal guardian of the minor is liable along with the minor for payment of the fine.
+ See more
The court may decline to order a person to pay a fine under paragraph (a) if the court finds that the person is indigent and does not have the ability to pay the fine or if the court finds that the person does not have the ability to pay the fine whether or not the person is indigent.
All

Inability to pay: Indigent

Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Not specified

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §812.015(2) Retail and farm theft; transit fare evasion; mandatory fine; alternative punishment; detention and arrest; exemption from liability for false arrest; resisting arrest; penalties
Upon a second or subsequent conviction for petit theft from a merchant, farmer, or transit agency, the offender shall be punished as provided in s. 812.014(3), except that the court
+ See more
shall impose a fine of not less than $50 or more than $1,000. However, in lieu of such fine, the court may require the offender to perform public services designated by the court. In no event shall any such offender be required to perform fewer than the number of hours of public service necessary to satisfy the fine assessed by the court, as provided by this subsection, at the minimum wage prevailing in the state at the time of sentencing.
All Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Public service

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §316.193(6) Driving under the influence; penalties
For the purposes of this section, any conviction for a violation of s. 327.35; a previous conviction for the violation of former s. 316.1931, former s. 860.01, or former s.
+ See more
316.028; or a previous conviction outside this state for driving under the influence, driving while intoxicated, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, driving with an unlawful breath-alcohol level, or any other similar alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense, is also considered a previous conviction for violation of this section. However, in satisfaction of the fine imposed pursuant to this section, the court may, upon a finding that the defendant is financially unable to pay either all or part of the fine, order that the defendant participate for a specified additional period of time in public service or a community work project in lieu of payment of that portion of the fine which the court determines the defendant is unable to pay. In determining such additional sentence, the court shall consider the amount of the unpaid portion of the fine and the reasonable value of the services to be ordered; however, the court may not compute the reasonable value of services at a rate less than the federal minimum wage at the time of sentencing.
All

Inability to pay: Defendant is financially unable to pay either all or part of the fine

At enforcement of fine or fee Not provided for Not provided for No

Public service or Community work project

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §316.1937(5)(b) Ignition interlock devices, requiring; unlawful acts
Any person convicted of a violation of subsection (6) who does not have a driver license shall, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, pay a fine of
+ See more
not less than $250 or more than $500 per each such violation. In the event that the person is unable to pay any such fine, the fine shall become a lien against the motor vehicle used in violation of subsection (6) and payment shall be made pursuant to s. 316.3025(5).
Traffic Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Property lien

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §938.21 Alcohol and drug abuse programs
Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary of the laws of this state, the court may assess for alcohol and other drug abuse programs as provided in s. 893.165 any defendant
+ See more
who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to, or is convicted of, a violation of any provision of chapter 893 or which involves a criminal violation of s. 316.193, s. 856.011, s. 856.015, or chapter 562, chapter 567, or chapter 568, in addition to any fine and other penalty provided by law, a court cost in an amount up to the amount of the fine authorized for the violation. The court is authorized to order a defendant to pay an additional assessment if it finds that the defendant has the ability to pay the fine and the additional assessment and will not be prevented thereby from being rehabilitated or from making restitution.
All Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Not specified

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §925.11(2)(g) Postsentencing DNA testing
If the court orders DNA testing of the physical evidence, the cost of such testing may be assessed against the sentenced defendant unless he or she is indigent. If the
+ See more
sentenced defendant is indigent, the state shall bear the cost of the DNA testing ordered by the court.
All

Inability to pay: Indigent

Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

The state shall bear the cost

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §984.225(3) Powers of disposition; placement in a staff-secure shelter
The court shall order the parent, guardian, or legal custodian to cooperate with efforts to reunite the child with the family, participate in counseling, and pay all costs associated with
+ See more
the care and counseling provided to the child and family, in accordance with the family’s ability to pay as determined by the court.
All

Family's ability to pay

Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Not specified

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §984.226(7) Physically secure setting
The court shall order the parent, guardian, or legal custodian to cooperate with efforts to reunite the child with the family, participate in counseling, and pay all costs associated with
+ See more
the care and counseling provided to the child and family, in accordance with the family’s ability to pay as determined by the court.
All

Family's ability to pay

Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Not specified

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §948.09(3) Payment for cost of supervision and rehabilitation
(3) Any failure to pay contribution as required under this section may constitute a ground for the revocation of probation by the court, the revocation of parole or conditional release by
+ See more
the Florida Commission on Offender Review, the revocation of control release by the Control Release Authority, or removal from the pretrial intervention program by the state attorney. The Department of Corrections may exempt a person from the payment of all or any part of the contribution if it finds any of the following factors to exist:(a) The offender has diligently attempted, but has been unable, to obtain employment which provides him or her sufficient income to make such payments. (b) The offender is a student in a school, college, university, or course of career training designed to fit the student for gainful employment. Certification of such student status shall be supplied to the Secretary of Corrections by the educational institution in which the offender is enrolled. (c) The offender has an employment handicap, as determined by a physical, psychological, or psychiatric examination acceptable to, or ordered by, the secretary. (d) The offender’s age prevents him or her from obtaining employment. (e) The offender is responsible for the support of dependents, and the payment of such contribution constitutes an undue hardship on the offender. (f) The offender has been transferred outside the state under an interstate compact adopted pursuant to chapter 949. (g) There are other extenuating circumstances, as determined by the secretary.
All Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for Administrative decision No

Exempt

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §948.06(5) Violation of probation or community control; revocation; modification; continuance; failure to pay restitution or cost of supervision
In any hearing in which the failure of a probationer or offender in community control to pay restitution or the cost of supervision as provided in s. 948.09, as directed,
+ See more
is established by the state, if the probationer or offender asserts his or her inability to pay restitution or the cost of supervision, it is incumbent upon the probationer or offender to prove by clear and convincing evidence that he or she does not have the present resources available to pay restitution or the cost of supervision despite sufficient bona fide efforts legally to acquire the resources to do so. If the probationer or offender cannot pay restitution or the cost of supervision despite sufficient bona fide efforts, the court shall consider alternate measures of punishment other than imprisonment. Only if alternate measures are not adequate to meet the state’s interests in punishment and deterrence may the court imprison a probationer or offender in community control who has demonstrated sufficient bona fide efforts to pay restitution or the cost of supervision.
All

Inability to pay: Does not have the present resources available to pay restitution or the cost of supervision despite sufficient bona fide efforts legally to acquire the resources to do

+ See more
so

Not provided for Burden on defendant to show inability to pay Not provided for No

If the probationer or offender cannot pay restitution or the cost of supervision despite sufficient bona fide efforts, the court shall consider alternate measures of punishment other than imprisonment. Only

+ See more
if alternate measures are not adequate to meet the state’s interests in punishment and deterrence may the court imprison a probationer or offender in community control who has demonstrated sufficient bona fide efforts to pay restitution or the cost of supervision.

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Florida Fla. Stat. §27.52(2) Determination of indigent statutus
(2) DETERMINATION BY THE CLERK.—The clerk of the court shall determine whether an applicant seeking appointment of a public defender is indigent based upon the information provided in the application and
+ See more
the criteria prescribed in this subsection.(a) An applicant, including an applicant who is a minor or an adult tax-dependent person, is indigent if the applicant’s income is equal to or below 200 percent of the then-current federal poverty guidelines prescribed for the size of the household of the applicant by the United States Department of Health and Human Services or if the person is receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families-Cash Assistance, poverty-related veterans’ benefits, or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). 1. There is a presumption that the applicant is not indigent if the applicant owns, or has equity in, any intangible or tangible personal property or real property or the expectancy of an interest in any such property having a net equity value of $2,500 or more, excluding the value of the person’s homestead and one vehicle having a net value not exceeding $5,000. 2. Notwithstanding the information that the applicant provides, the clerk may conduct a review of the property records for the county in which the applicant resides and the motor vehicle title records of the state to identify any property interests of the applicant under this paragraph. The clerk may evaluate and consider the results of the review in making a determination under this subsection. If the review is conducted, the clerk shall maintain the results of the review in a file with the application and provide the file to the court if the applicant seeks review under subsection (4) of the clerk’s determination of indigent status. (b) Based upon its review, the clerk shall make one of the following determinations: 1. The applicant is not indigent. 2. The applicant is indigent.
All

Inability to pay: Indigent (An applicant, including an applicant who is a minor or an adult tax-dependent person, is indigent if the applicant’s income is equal to or below 200

+ See more
percent of the then-current federal poverty guidelines).

Before imposition of fine or fee Burden on defendant to show inability to pay Other No

Supervision fee

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. ? 22-4529 Entitlement of defendant to counsel; application fee; disposition of moneys
Any defendant entitled to counsel pursuant to Kan. Stat. Ann. ? 22-4503, and amendments thereto, shall pay an application fee in the amount of $100 to the clerk of the
+ See more
district court. Any defendant entitled to counsel in a proceeding for a violation of a condition of release pursuant to Kan. Stat. Ann. ? 22-3716, and amendments thereto, shall pay an application fee of $100 to the clerk of the district court. Such fee shall be paid regardless of whether the defendant has paid application fees pursuant to this section in any other proceeding. If it appears to the satisfaction of the court that payment of the application fee will impose manifest hardship on the defendant, the court may waive payment of all or part of the application fee. All moneys received pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of Kan. Stat. Ann. ? 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the indigents' defense services fund. If the defendant is acquitted or the case is dismissed, any application fee paid pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the defendant.
All

"manifest hardship"

Before imposition of fine or fee Not provided for Not provided for No Not provided for
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. ? 8-1567 Driving a commercial motor vehicle under the influence; penalties
In lieu of payment of a fine imposed pursuant to this section, the court may order that the person perform community service specified by the court. The person shall receive
+ See more
a credit on the fine imposed in an amount equal to $5 for each full hour spent by the person in the specified community service. The community service ordered by the court shall be required to be performed not later than one year after the fine is imposed or by an earlier date specified by the court. If by the required date the person performs an insufficient amount of community service to reduce to zero the portion of the fine required to be paid by the person, the remaining balance of the fine shall become due on that date.
Misdemeanor, Felony Not provided for At enforcement of fine or fee Not provided for Not provided for No

Community service

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 3-1-317(2) User surcharge for court information technology -- exception
If a court determines that a defendant in a criminal case or determines pursuant to 25-10-404 that a party in a civil case is unable to pay the surcharge, the
+ See more
court may waive payment of the surcharge imposed by this section.
All Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Waive surcharge

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 3-1-318(2) Surcharges upon certain criminal convictions -- exception
A court may not waive payment of the surcharge unless the court determines that the defendant is unable to pay the surcharge. Inability to pay must be supported by a
+ See more
sworn statement from the defendant demonstrating financial inability to pay without substantial hardship in providing for personal or family necessities. The statement is not admissible in the proceeding unless offered for impeachment purposes and is not admissible in a subsequent prosecution for perjury or false swearing.
All

Financial inability to pay without substantial hardship in providing for personal or family necessities

Not provided for Burden on defendant to show inability to pay Not provided for No

Waive surcharge

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 45-6-101(2) Criminal Mischief
A person convicted of criminal mischief must be ordered to make restitution in an amount and manner to be set by the court. The court shall determine the manner and
+ See more
amount of restitution after full consideration of the convicted person's ability to pay the restitution.
All Not provided for Before imposition of fine or fee Not provided for Not provided for No

Determine amount of restitution accordingly.

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 45-6-101(2) Criminal Mischief
Upon good cause shown by the convicted person, the court may modify any previous order specifying the amount and manner of restitution. Full payment of the amount of restitution ordered
+ See more
must be made prior to the release of state jurisdiction over the person convicted
All Not provided for At defendant's request at enforcement Burden on defendant to show inability to pay Not provided for No

Modify previous order specifying the amount and manner of restitution.

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-241(3) Condition of Restitution
 If at any time the court finds that, because of circumstances beyond the offender's control, the offender is not able to pay any restitution, the court may order the offender
+ See more
to perform community service during the time that the offender is unable to pay. The offender must be given a credit against restitution due at the rate of the hours of community service times the state minimum wage in effect at the time that the community service is performed.
All Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Community service payable against restitution owed in amount equal to the minimum wage for each hour worked.

BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-241(3) Condition of Restitution
If at any time the court finds that, because of circumstances beyond the offender's control, the offender is not able to pay any restitution, the court may order the offender
+ See more
to perform community service during the time that the offender is unable to pay. The offender must be given a credit against restitution due at the rate of the hours of community service times the state minimum wage in effect at the time that the community service is performed.
All

Not able to pay any restitution because of circumstances beyond the offender's control

Not provided for Not provided for Not provided for No

Community service payable against restitution owed in amount equal to the minimum wage for each hour worked.