Keyword search across all of the laws in the states. Subject-area tabs above allow you to narrow results. Click the advanced search for further refinement.
Every law can be saved to the Reform Builder
Below are the poverty penalties and poverty traps that meet your search criteria. Many include a See related provisions prompt which searches our database for laws that may pertain to your result.
|State||Statute||Description/Statute Name||Statutory language||Type of poverty penalty or poverty trap||Level of offense||Mandatory|
|Kansas||Kan. Stat. Ann. § 8-1567||Driving a commercial motor vehicle under the influence; penalties||
In lieu of payment of a fine imposed pursuant to this section, the court may order that the person perform community service specified by the court. The person shall receive+ See more
a credit on the fine imposed in an amount equal to $5 for each full hour spent by the person in the specified community service. The community service ordered by the court shall be required to be performed not later than one year after the fine is imposed or by an earlier date specified by the court. If by the required date the person performs an insufficient amount of community service to reduce to zero the portion of the fine required to be paid by the person, the remaining balance of the fine shall become due on that date.
|Montana||Mont. Code Ann. § 45-5-205(4)||Negligent vehicular assault--penalty||
If a term of incarceration is imposed under subsection (2) or (3), the judge may suspend the term of incarceration upon the condition of payment of any fine imposed and+ See more
of restitution. If the person does not pay the fine or restitution, the term of incarceration may be imposed.
|Montana||Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-244(3)(a)||Type and time of payment--defenses--ensuring payment||
In addition to other methods of payment, the court may order one or more of the following in order to satisfy the offender's restitution obligation: (a) forfeiture and sale of+ See more
the offender's assets under the provisions of Title 25, chapter 13, part 7, unless the court finds, after notice and an opportunity for the offender to be heard, that the assets are reasonably necessary for the offender to sustain a living or support the offender's dependents or unless the state determines that the cost of forfeiture and sale would outweigh the amount available to the victim after sale. If the proceeds of sale exceed the amount of restitution ordered and the costs of forfeiture and sale, any remaining amount must be returned to the offender
|Montana||Mont. Code Ann. § 46-8-115||Effect of Nonpayment||
(1) When a defendant who is sentenced to pay the costs of assigned counsel defaults in payment of the costs or of any installment, the court on motion of the+ See more
prosecutor or on its own motion may require the defendant to show cause why the default should not be treated as contempt of court and may issue a show cause citation or an arrest warrant requiring the defendant's appearance. (2) Unless the defendant shows that the default was not attributable to an intentional refusal to obey the order of the court or to a failure on the defendant's part to make a good faith effort to make the payment, the court may find that the default constitutes civil contempt. (3) The term of imprisonment for contempt for nonpayment of the costs of assigned counsel must be set forth in the judgment and may not exceed 1 day for each $25 of the payment, 30 days if the order for payment of costs was imposed upon conviction of a misdemeanor, or 1 year in any other case, whichever is the shorter period. A person committed for nonpayment of costs must be given credit toward payment for each day of imprisonment at the rate specified in the judgment.
|New York||N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law § 420.35(1)||Mandatory surcharge and crime victim assistance fee; applicability to sentences mandating payment of fines||
The provisions of section 420.10 of this article governing the collection of fines and the provisions of section 420.40 of this article governing deferral of mandatory surcharges, sex offender registration fees, DNA databank fees+ See more
and financial hardship hearings and the provisions of section 430.20 of this chapter governing the commitment of a defendant for failure to pay a fine shall be applicable to a mandatory surcharge, sex offender registration fee, DNA databank fee and a crime victim assistance fee imposed pursuant to subdivision one of section 60.35 of the penal law, subdivision twenty-a of section three hundred eighty-five of the vehicle and traffic law, subdivision nineteen-a of section four hundred one of the vehicle and traffic law, or a mandatory surcharge imposed pursuant to section eighteen hundred nine of the vehicle and traffic law or section 27.12 of the parks, recreation and historic preservation law. When the court directs that the defendant be imprisoned until the mandatory surcharge, sex offender registration fee or DNA databank fee is satisfied, it must specify a maximum period of imprisonment not to exceed fifteen days; provided, however, a court may not direct that a defendant be imprisoned until the mandatory surcharge, sex offender registration fee, or DNA databank fee is satisfied or otherwise for failure to pay the mandatory surcharge, sex offender registration fee or DNA databank fee unless the court makes a contemporaneous finding on the record, after according defendant notice and an opportunity to be heard, that the payment of the mandatory surcharge, sex offender registration fee or DNA databank fee upon defendant will not work an unreasonable hardship upon him or her or his or her immediate family.
|Oklahoma||Okla. Stat. tit. 22, § 1355.14A||Payment of costs of representation--Fee schedule||
At the time of pronouncing the judgment and sentence or other final order, the court shall order any person represented by an attorney employed by the Oklahoma Indigent Defense System+ See more
or a defense attorney who contracts or volunteers to represent indigents pursuant to the provisions of the Indigent Defense Act to pay the costs for representation in total or in installments and, in the case of installment payments, set the amount and due date of each installment.
|Payment plan/installment plan||All||No|
|Oklahoma||Okla. Stat. tit. 10A, § 1-4-701B||Reimbursements and costs by parents able to pay||
The court may order the terms and conditions of the payment of costs and expenses described in subsection A of this section. When any parent is financially able but has+ See more
willfully failed to pay the costs and reimbursements as ordered by the court pursuant to this section, the parent may be held in indirect contempt of court and, upon conviction, shall be punished pursuant to Section 566 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes.
|Oklahoma||Okla. Stat. tit. 22, § 979a||Payment of jail costs by inmate||
The sheriff, municipality or other public entity responsible for the operation of the jail may collect costs of incarceration ordered by the court from the jail account of the inmate.+ See more
If the funds collected from the jail account of the inmate are insufficient to satisfy the actual incarceration costs ordered by the court, the sheriff, municipality or other public entity responsible for the operation of the jail is authorized to collect the remaining balance of the incarceration costs by civil action.
|Wage/bank account garnishment||All||No|
|Tennessee||Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-50-507||Community Service Work||
By a majority vote of the applicable local legislative body, any county or city may, by resolution or ordinance, establish a program that allows any person who is indigent and+ See more
who has been convicted of driving while the person's license is cancelled, suspended, or revoked in violation of § 55-50-504(a) to complete community service work in lieu of paying the fines and other costs imposed for the conviction. The community service program shall be administered and monitored by the appropriate entity that administers court-ordered community service within the applicable jurisdiction.
|Utah||Utah Code Ann. § 77-27-6||Payment of restitution||
When the Board of Pardons and Parole orders the release on parole of an inmate who has been sentenced to make restitution pursuant to Title 77, Chapter 38a, Crime Victims+ See more
Restitution Act, or whom the board has ordered to make restitution, and all or a portion of restitution is still owing, the board may establish a schedule, including both complete and court-ordered restitution, by which payment of the restitution shall be made
|Payment plan/installment plan||All||No|
|Washington||Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 10.01.160(3)-(4)||What constitutes--Payment by defendant--Procedure--Remission--Medical or mental health treatment or services||Not specified||All||No|
|Washington||Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 10.101.020||Indigency determination||Not specified||All||No|
|Washington||Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9.94A.750||Restitution||Not specified||All||No|
|Washington||Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9.94A.777||Legal financial obligations--Defendants with mental health conditions||Not specified||All||No|
|Michigan||Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.1(k)||Wage assignment||The court may require the defendant to pay any fine, cost, or assessment ordered to be paid under this section by wage assignment.||Wage/bank account garnishment||All||No|
|Michigan||Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.1a(11)||Payment of restitution as condition of sentence, parole, or probation||
If the defendant is placed on probation or paroled or the court imposes a conditional sentence under section 3 of this chapter, any restitution ordered under this section shall be+ See more
a condition of that probation, parole, or sentence. The court may revoke probation or impose imprisonment under the conditional sentence and the parole board may revoke parole if the defendant fails to comply with the order and if the defendant has not made a good faith effort to comply with the order. In determining whether to revoke probation or parole or impose imprisonment, the court or parole board shall consider the defendant's employment status, earning ability, and financial resources, the willfulness of the defendant's failure to pay, and any other special circumstances that may have a bearing on the defendant's ability to pay.
|Michigan||Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.3(1)||Conditional sentence||
(1) If a person is convicted of an offense punishable by a fine or imprisonment, or both, the court may impose a conditional sentence and order the person to pay+ See more
a fine, with or without the costs of prosecution, and restitution . . . within a limited time stated in the sentence and, in default of payment, sentence the person as provided by law.
|Michigan||Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.3(2)||Conditional sentence - installments||
(2) Except for a person who is convicted of criminal sexual conduct in the first or third degree, the court may also place the offender on probation with the condition+ See more
that the offender pay a fine, costs, damages, restitution, or any combination in installments with any limited time and may, upon default in any of those payments, impose sentence as provided by law.
|Payment plan/installment plan||All||No|
|Michigan||Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.4803||Failure to pay as subject to late penalty||
A person who fails to pay a penalty, fee, or costs in full within 56 days after that amount is due and owing is subject to a late penalty equal+ See more
to 20% of the amount owed. The court shall inform a person subject to a penalty, fee, or costs that the late penalty will be applied to any amount that continues to be unpaid 56 days after the amount is due and owing. . . . A late penalty may be waived by the court upon the request of the person subject to the late penalty.
|Michigan||Mich. Comp. Laws § 780.830a||Deductions and payments||
(1) If a defendant who has been sentenced to jail is ordered to pay restitution under section 76, and if the defendant receives more than $50.00 in a month, the+ See more
sheriff may deduct 50% of the amount over $50.00 received by the defendant for payment of the restitution, and 5% of the amount over $50.00 received by the defendant to be retained by the sheriff as an administrative fee. The sheriff shall promptly send the money deducted for restitution to the court or to the crime victim as provided in the order of restitution when it accumulates to an amount that exceeds $100.00, or when the defendant is released to probation or discharged on the maximum sentence.
|Wage/bank account garnishment||All||No|
The Criminal Justice Debt Reform Builder is a project of the National Criminal Justice Debt Initiative of the Criminal Justice Policy Program at Harvard Law School in collaboration with the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University and with user experience design by metaLAB (at) Harvard.
For more information, please visit cjpp.law.harvard.edu.