Poverty Penalties and Poverty Traps

Keyword search across all of the laws in the states. Subject-area tabs above allow you to narrow results. Click the advanced search for further refinement.

Every law can be saved to the Reform Builder  

See all poverty penalty and poverty trap policy recommendations in CJPP’s Policy Guide

Below are the poverty penalties and poverty traps that meet your search criteria. Many include a See related provisions prompt which searches our database for laws that may pertain to your result.

74 Results

Export results to Excel

State Statute Description/Statute Name Statutory language Type of poverty penalty or poverty trap Level of offense Mandatory
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 604-A:9(I) Repayment

The state may collect from the defendant a service charge of up to 10 percent of the total amount of fees and expenses owed by such defendant.

Collection fee/interest All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 263:56-a Suspension or Revocation for Default, Noncompliance, or Nonpayment of Fine

Whenever any defendant: . . . (b) Fails to pay a fine or other penalty imposed in connection with a conviction of any offense which a court has determined he

+ See more
is able to pay, or issues a bad check in payment of a fine or other penalty; or (c) Fails to comply with a similar order of the director or a court on any matter within the director's or court's jurisdiction, his driver's license or resident or nonresident driving privilege and in any motor vehicle case or related case the resident plates and motor vehicle registration shall be suspended or revoked only upon written consent of the director, effective 30 days after such default or failure, except as provided in subparagraph I(d) of this section.

Driver's license suspension/impoundment Traffic No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 631:2-b Domestic Violence

In addition to any other penalty authorized by law, the court shall levy a fine of $50 for each conviction under this section. If the court determines that the defendant

+ See more
is unable to pay the fine on the date imposed, the court may defer payment or order periodic payments thereof. Fines imposed under this section shall not be subject to an additional penalty assessment. The clerk shall forward all fines collected under this paragraph to the department of health and human services for the purposes of RSA 173-B:15.

Payment plan/installment plan All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 504-A:13(I) Supervision and Service Charges

The court shall establish a supervision fee for probationers, and the parole board shall establish a supervision fee for parolees. The fee shall not be less than $40 a month,

+ See more
unless waived in whole or in part by the court, board or commissioner, and may be any greater amount as established by the court or board. This fee shall be considered a condition of release, and failure to satisfy this obligation shall be grounds for a violation hearing, unless the probationer or parolee has been found to be indigent and, for that reason, unable to pay the fee. Service charges for collection of fines and fees, other than supervision fees, shall be established at 10 percent of the funds collected.

Collection fee/interest, Condition or extension of supervision All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 490:26-a(II-a) Court Fees and Fines; Credit Card Payments

The supreme court may establish by rule an equitable fee of not less than $25 to be added to a fine whenever a court extends the time for the payment

+ See more
of the fine. An equitable fee assessed by a court under this paragraph shall be paid prior to or simultaneously with the payment of the fine.

Collection fee/interest All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 618:7 Execution

A writ of execution may be issued for any fine in a criminal case, notwithstanding the respondent may be committed or detained in a county correctional facility for nonpayment thereof,

+ See more
and if the fine is collected upon the execution, the convict shall not be further detained on account thereof.

Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 618:6 Place of Committal

Any person sentenced to pay a fine shall be ordered to be imprisoned until sentence is performed, or he or she is otherwise legally discharged, in the county correctional facility

+ See more
in which the crime was committed. This section shall not be construed as authorizing the confinement of any juvenile under the age of 17 years in a county correctional facility for the nonpayment of a fine.

Incarceration All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 651:22 Jurisdiction Over and Disposition of Wages and Income

In any criminal case, in addition to such other terms and conditions as may be imposed by the court, a defendant who has received a suspended sentence or who has

+ See more
been released under RSA 651:19 may be required by the court to surrender to the department of corrections or other agency designated by the court all or part of his wages or other income, less standard payroll deduction required by law, earned during the time he is not confined under the sentence. The court may direct that, after deducting therefrom the cost of his maintenance while not confined, the balance be applied as needed for restitution payments made to authorized claimants pursuant to RSA 651:62 through 66 and for the support and maintenance of his dependents. Any balance after such applications shall be deposited in a savings account to be released to him or applied as needed for restitution payments or the support of his dependents as the court may order, or applied to the designated cost of room and board at the institution for the period of time during which the inmate is working before the expiration of his sentence. Upon expiration of his sentence the balance remaining shall be paid to him or his order.

Wage/bank account garnishment All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 651:64(I),(III) Time and Method of Restitution

I. The time and method of restitution payments or performance of restitution services shall be specified by the department of corrections. Monetary restitution may be by lump sum, or by

+ See more
periodic installments in any amounts.

III. The department may garnish the offender's wages for the purpose of ensuring payment of victim restitution.

Payment plan/installment plan, Wage/bank account garnishment All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 651:67(I) Failure to Make Restitution

Any offender who is sentenced to make restitution under RSA 651:63, and who purposely violates the court's order by either failing to make restitution or by defaulting in the payment

+ See more
or performance of the restitution authorized, may be prosecuted for contempt.

Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 524:6-a(I) Periodic Payment of Judgments

Whenever judgment is rendered against any person in this state, the court in which the judgment is rendered shall either at the time of rendition of the judgment inquire of

+ See more
the defendant as to the defendant's ability to pay the judgment in full or, upon petition of the plaintiff after judgment, order the defendant to appear in court for such inquiry. The court may at either time order the defendant to make such periodic payments as the court in its discretion deems appropriate. If the court orders the defendant to make periodic payments at the time of rendition of judgment, the order shall not provide for payments to begin until after the appeal period has expired. Failure to make such periodic payments shall constitute civil contempt of court unless the judge, upon inquiry, finds that the failure was the result of a change in circumstances, or the failure was not intentional or in bad faith, or for other good cause. The court may order the appropriate agencies to make an investigation and recommendation as to the defendant's ability to pay the judgment. The judgment may be enforced against any property of any kind of the debtor, except such income and property as is now exempt from attachment or execution. Unless the parties otherwise agree, after an order for periodic payments has been issued by the court, no writ of execution shall be issued by the court without prior notice to the defendant. II. Any income from a retirement plan or arrangement qualified for tax exemption purposes, as defined by RSA 511:2, XIX, shall be exempt from periodic payments up to the amount of 50 times the minimum hourly wage as established by the Fair Labor Standards Act, per week. If the defendant shares income and expenses with another person with whom he or she lives, and both people receive income from such a retirement plan or arrangement, any income from such a retirement plan or arrangement and belonging to either person shall be exempt from periodic payments up to the amount of 100 times the minimum hourly wage as established by the Fair Labor Standards Act, in total, per week.

Payment plan/installment plan All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 604-A:9(III) Adequate Representation for Indigent Defendants in Criminal Cases: Repayment

If any repayment ordered pursuant to paragraph I becomes overdue, the court having originally appointed counsel may order any employer of a former defendant to deduct from that person's wages

+ See more
or salary the appropriate amount due and to pay such amount to the appropriate department as determined under paragraph I, which shall refund such amount to the state, provided that no money, rights, or credits listed in RSA 512:21 shall be subject to deduction.

Wage/bank account garnishment All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 490:26-a(II-a) Court Fees and Fines; Credit Card Payments

The supreme court may establish by rule an equitable fee of not less than $25 to be added to a fine whenever a court extends the time for the payment

+ See more
of the fine. An equitable fee assessed by a court under this paragraph shall be paid prior to or simultaneously with the payment of the fine.

Increased fine, Payment plan/installment plan All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. § 618:9 Committal for Nonpayment; Term

Whenever a person is committed to a county correctional facility in default of payment of a fine imposed by a justice of a superior court or a district court, he

+ See more
or she shall be discharged from custody by the superintendent thereof at the expiration of a number of days after the date of his or her commitment equal to one day for each $150 of the fine so imposed. The superintendent shall keep a record of all discharges made under the provisions of this section.

Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire NH R CRIM Rule 29(e)(3)(i) Community Service

(3)  In any case where the court finds that the defendant is unable to pay the assessment either on the date the sentence is imposed or later, the court may, if

+ See more
otherwise permitted by law: (i) defer or suspend payment of all or part of the assessment or order periodic payment; or (ii) allow the defendant to perform community service, pursuant to a plan submitted to and approved by the court. 

Community service, Payment plan/installment plan All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 618:8 At End of Term, or on Payment of Balance

Any person sentenced conditionally to pay a fine or to be imprisoned for a term shall be discharged at the expiration of the term, and may be discharged at any

+ See more
time on payment of the balance of the fine, after deducting $150 for each day such person has been imprisoned under the sentence.

Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 622:55(VII) Cost of Care Reimbursement by Inmate

If the inmate fails to make any payments as ordered by the court, the attorney general may bring appropriate actions pursuant to RSA 512, for execution and levy of assets

+ See more
of the inmate consistent with the provisions of RSA 480 in the amount necessary to satisfy the unpaid portions of the court's order.

Property liens All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-32-05(3) Imposition of fine--Response to nonpayment
3. If the defendant does not pay the fine, or make any required partial payment, the court, upon motion of the prosecuting attorney or on its own motion, may issue
+ See more
an order to show cause why the defendant should not be imprisoned for nonpayment. Unless the defendant shows that his default is excusable, the court may sentence him to the following periods of imprisonment for failure to pay a fine:a. If the defendant was convicted of a misdemeanor, to a period not to exceed thirty days. b. If the defendant was convicted of a felony, to a period not to exceed six months.
Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-32-05(2) Imposition of fine--Response to nonpayment
The court may allow the defendant to pay any fine imposed in installments. When a defendant is sentenced to pay a fine, the court shall not impose at the same
+ See more
time an alternative sentence to be served in the event that the fine is not paid.
Payment plan/installment plan All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-32-05(3) Imposition of fine--Response to nonpayment
If the defendant does not pay the fine, or make any required partial payment, the court, upon motion of the prosecuting attorney or on its own motion, may issue an
+ See more
order to show cause why the defendant should not be imprisoned for nonpayment. Unless the defendant shows that his default is excusable, the court may sentence him to the following periods of imprisonment for failure to pay a fine: a. If the defendant was convicted of a misdemeanor, to a period not to exceed thirty days. b. If the defendant was convicted of a felony, to a period not to exceed six months.
Incarceration All No