Poverty Penalties and Poverty Traps

Keyword search across all of the laws in the states. Subject-area tabs above allow you to narrow results. Click the advanced search for further refinement.

Every law can be saved to the Reform Builder  

See all poverty penalty and poverty trap policy recommendations in CJPP’s Policy Guide

Below are the poverty penalties and poverty traps that meet your search criteria. Many include a See related provisions prompt which searches our database for laws that may pertain to your result.

72 Results

Export results to Excel

State Statute Description/Statute Name Statutory language Type of poverty penalty or poverty trap Level of offense Mandatory
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 10 Del. C. § 8603(e) Nonpayment of Costs

A default in the payment of defense costs or any installment thereof may be collected by any means authorized by law for the enforcement of a judgment. The levy of

+ See more
execution for the collection of such payment shall not discharge a defendant committed for imprisonment for contempt until the full amount of the fine has actually been collected. The court shall have the power to pursue civil enforcement to obtain the money due on behalf of the State, and to also pursue criminal remedies when civil means are not effective.

Civil judgment All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 10 Del. C. § 8603(b);(c) Nonpayment of Costs

(b) If there has been no former citation for contempt, the term of imprisonment for contempt for the nonpayment of defense costs shall be set forth in the commitment order,

+ See more
and shall not exceed 1 day for each $ 25 of the full amount. In no event shall imprisonment exceed 30 days if the fine was imposed upon conviction of a violation or misdemeanor. In all other cases, the court may impose a term of imprisonment not to exceed 1 year. A person committed for nonpayment shall be given credit toward payment for each day of imprisonment at the rate specified in the commitment order. (c) Upon a second or subsequent citation for contempt and unless the defendant shows that the default was not attributable to an intentional refusal to obey the order of the court or to a failure on the defendant's part to make good faith effort to make the payment, the court may find that such default constitutes contempt and may order the defendant committed until the payment, or a specified part thereof, is paid.

Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 10 Del. C. § 8603(e) Nonpayment of Costs

A default in the payment of defense costs or any installment thereof may be collected by any means authorized by law for the enforcement of a judgment. The levy of

+ See more
execution for the collection of such payment shall not discharge a defendant committed for imprisonment for contempt until the full amount of the fine has actually been collected. The court shall have the power to pursue civil enforcement to obtain the money due on behalf of the State, and to also pursue criminal remedies when civil means are not effective.

Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 4 Del. C. § 902 Offenses Carrying Penalty of Fine of $500 to $1,000 or Imprisonment for 3 to 6 Months on Failure to Pay Fine

In addition to payment of costs, be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000, and, on failure to pay such fine and costs, shall be imprisoned not less

+ See more
than 3 nor more than 6 months. Justices of the peace shall have original jurisdiction to hear, try, and finally determine alleged violations of this section.

Incarceration Misdemeanor Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 10 Del. C. § 8709 Neglect or Refusal to Pay Fees; Penalty

Whoever neglects or refuses to pay the fees provided for in §§ 8707 and 8708 of this title, for any service performed within 10 days after written demand from the officer

+ See more
to whom such fees are due, shall be fined $ 10 besides costs of suit.

Increased fine All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 10 Del. C. § 8602(b) Conditions of Payment

When the court determines that a defendant must pay the costs of defense and the defendant is also placed on probation, or the imposition or execution of a sentence is

+ See more
suspended, the court may make payment of such costs a condition of probation or suspension of sentence.

Condition or extension of supervision All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 10 Del. C. § 8602(a) Conditions of Payment

When the court determines that a defendant must pay the costs of defense, the court may grant permission for payment to be made within a specified period of time or

+ See more
in specified installments. If no such permission is granted, the full amount shall be payable forthwith.

Payment plan/installment plan All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4104(e) Fines, Costs or Restitution; How Collected; Holding Operator's License as Security for Payment

Whenever any person lawfully possessed of an operator's license theretofore issued to the person by the Division of Motor Vehicles of the Department of Transportation of the State, or under

+ See more
the laws of any other state or territory, or of the District of Columbia, shall be arrested and charged with any violation of the traffic or criminal laws of this State, or of any political subdivision thereof, a court, as a condition of sentencing, may take and hold, as security for the payment of any fine, costs, restitution or Victims Compensation Fund assessment, the operator's license so issued to the defendant.

Driver's license suspension/impoundment All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4104(c) Fines, Costs or Restitution; How Collected; Holding Operator's License as Security for Payment

Any court may, in its discretion, direct any person sentenced to pay a fine or restitution upon conviction of a crime, who is employed within this State or by a

+ See more
Delaware resident or employer, to execute an assignment of a specified periodic sum not to exceed 1/3 of the person's total earnings, which assignment shall direct the person's employer to withhold and remit that amount to this State up to the total of the fine, costs and restitution imposed.

Wage/bank account garnishment All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4104(a)(1)-(2) Fines, Costs or Restitution; How Collected; Holding Operator's License as Security for Payment

When a court imposes a fine, costs or restitution upon a defendant, the court or justice of the peace may direct as follows:(1) That the defendant pay the entire amount

+ See more
at the time sentence is imposed; (2) That the defendant pay a specified portion of the fine, costs or restitution at designated periodic intervals, and in such case may direct that the fine, costs or restitution be remitted to a probation officer who shall report to the court, at such periods as the court may direct, any failure to comply with the orders; or

Payment plan/installment plan All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4104(b) Fines, Costs or Restitution; How Collected; Holding Operator's License as Security for Payment

The bond shall contain a warrant of attorney authorizing the Prothonotary or any attorney of record in this State or elsewhere to appear in any court, including a justice of

+ See more
the peace, and confess judgment against the person so bound. Upon execution of the bond the convicted person shall be required to list on the reverse thereof all motor vehicles and real property owned by the person or in which the person has any title or interest with a description and the location thereof.

Property liens All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4104(b) Fines, Costs or Restitution; How Collected; Holding Operator's License as Security for Payment

Any court, including a justice of the peace, may, in its discretion, permit any person sentenced to pay a fine upon conviction of crime, in lieu of the payment of

+ See more
the fine ordered, to execute a bond acknowledging the amount of the fine imposed upon the person as a debt due and owing to this State and binding the person unto this State in an amount equal to 10 times the fine imposed. The bond shall be so conditioned that, should the amount of the fine imposed be paid to this State on or before the tenth day next following the day on which the fine is imposed, then in that event the bond shall be null and void.

Collection fee/interest All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4104(a)(3) Fines, Costs or Restitution; How Collected; Holding Operator's License as Security for Payment

(a) When a court imposes a fine, costs or restitution upon a defendant, the court or justice of the peace may direct as follows: . . . (3) Where the

+ See more
defendant is sentenced to a period of probation as well as fine, costs or restitution that payment of the fines, costs or restitution shall be a condition of the probation.

Condition or extension of supervision All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4105(b)(1) Default in Payment of Fine; Inability to Pay

Where a person sentenced to pay a fine, costs, restitution or all 3, on conviction of a crime is unable or fails to pay such fine, costs, restitution or all

+ See more
3, at the time of imposition of sentence or in accordance with the terms of payment set by the court, the court may order the person to report at any time to the Commissioner of the Department of Correction, or a person designated by the Commissioner, for work for a number and schedule of hours necessary to discharge the fine, costs or restitution imposed.

Work program/jail industry program All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 11 Del. C. § 4105(d) Default in Payment of Fine; Inability to Pay

Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, where a defendant sentenced to be imprisoned is ordered to pay a fine, costs, restitution or all 3, the court may order an additional

+ See more
sentence of imprisonment in lieu of requiring the payment of the fine, costs, restitution or all 3; provided, however, that this additional sentence of imprisonment may not exceed 30 days, to be served concurrently or consecutively with the sentence originally imposed, as the court may order.

Incarceration All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 21 Del. C. § 2732(b) Mandatory Revocation or Suspension of License or Refusal to Renew or Issue a Duplicate License

Upon receiving a record of the failure of a convicted person to pay a fine, costs or both as described in § 2731(b) of this title, or to timely complete

+ See more
a course of instruction pursuant to § 4175A or § 4177D of this title, the Department or its successor, shall: (1) If the convicted person is a resident of this State, forthwith suspend the convicted person's license until the fine, costs or both have been paid, or the court finds that the person has completed the necessary course of instruction and paid all applicable fees; and (2) If the convicted person is a nonresident of this State, forthwith suspend the convicted person's driving privileges in this State and immediately advise the Motor Vehicle Administrator of the state wherein the convicted person is a resident that the convicted person has failed to pay a fine, costs or both, or to timely complete a course of instruction pursuant to § 4175A or § 4177D of this title, and requesting that the convicted person's license to drive be suspended until the fine, costs or both have been paid, or the court finds that the person has completed the necessary course of instruction and paid all applicable fees.

Driver's license suspension/impoundment All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Delaware 21 Del. C. § 709(j)(3) Payment of Motor Vehicle Fines

If a driver who has failed to pay a voluntary assessment or request a hearing within 30 days of the date of arrest appears at court, the charge shall be

+ See more
prosecuted as if the voluntary assessment had not been permitted and the officer shall swear to the Uniform Traffic Complaint and Summons prior to trial. The minimum fine provisions of subsection (g) of this section shall not apply. If the driver who appears pleads not guilty, the court shall provide the driver with a copy of the appearance bond to provide as proof of court appearance to the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Other Traffic Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Illinois 730 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/5-6-3(a)(7) Conditions of probation and of conditional discharge

(7) if he or she is at least 17 years of age and has been sentenced to probation or conditional discharge for a misdemeanor or felony in a county of 3,000,000

+ See more
or more inhabitants and has not been previously convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, may be required by the sentencing court to attend educational courses designed to prepare the defendant for a high school diploma and to work toward a high school diploma or to work toward passing high school equivalency testing or to work toward completing a vocational training program approved by the court. The person on probation or conditional discharge must attend a public institution of education to obtain the educational or vocational training required by this paragraph (7). The court shall revoke the probation or conditional discharge of a person who wilfully fails to comply with this paragraph (7). The person on probation or conditional discharge shall be required to pay for the cost of the educational courses or high school equivalency testing if a fee is charged for those courses or testing. 

Condition or extension of supervision All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Illinois 730 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/5-6-3(i) Conditions of probation and of conditional discharge

(i) The court shall impose upon an offender sentenced to probation after January 1, 1989 or to conditional discharge after January 1, 1992 or to community service under the supervision of

+ See more
a probation or court services department after January 1, 2004, as a condition of such probation or conditional discharge or supervised community service, a fee of $50 for each month of probation or conditional discharge supervision or supervised community service ordered by the court, unless after determining the inability of the person sentenced to probation or conditional discharge or supervised community service to pay the fee, the court assesses a lesser fee.

Condition or extension of supervision All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Illinois 730 ILCS 5/5-6-3(b)(10)(iv) Conditions of probation and of conditional discharge

(iv) for persons convicted of any alcohol, cannabis or controlled substance violation who are placed on an approved monitoring device as a condition of probation or conditional discharge, the court shall

+ See more
impose a reasonable fee for each day of the use of the device, as established by the county board in subsection (g) of this Section, unless after determining the inability of the offender to pay the fee, the court assesses a lesser fee or no fee as the case may be. 

Condition or extension of supervision All Yes