Below are the fees and fines that meet your search criteria. Many include a See related provisions prompt which searches our database for laws that may pertain to your result.

61 Results

Export results to Excel

State Statute Description/Statute Name Statutory language Amount Level of offense Mandatory Imposed by Delegation of authority
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Jersey N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:158A-16 Public Defender Costs
In all cases where it appears that the defendant has or reasonably expects to have means to meet some part, though not all, of the cost of the services rendered
+ See more
to him he shall be required to reimburse the office, either by a single payment or in installments, in such amounts as he can reasonably be expected to pay; but no default or failure in the making of any such payment shall in any wise affect or reduce the rendering of the services to him.
Costs
All Yes Other N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:158A-19
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 31:39 Purpose and Penalties Towns may enforce the observance of the bylaws by suitable penalties not exceeding $1,000 for each offense to enure to such uses as the town may direct. $0.00 - $1000.00 All No Local jurisdiction, Court, Municipality/municipal agency Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Wyoming Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 7-19-108(b) Fees
(b) Criminal justice agencies which fingerprint applicants at the request of noncriminal justice agencies for criminal history record information may charge a reasonable fee of not more than
+ See more
five dollars ($5.00) for fingerprinting. Fees collected under this subsection shall be credited to the state general fund or to the general fund of the appropriate county or municipality.
$5 All No Other State/Statewide Agency
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 17.1-279.1 Additional assessment for electronic summons system.
Any county, city, or town, through its governing body, may assess an additional sum not in excess of $5 as part of the costs in each criminal or traffic case
+ See more
in the district or circuit courts located where such cases are brought in which the defendant is charged with a violation of any statute or ordinance, which violation in the case of towns arose within the town. The imposition of such assessment shall be by ordinance of the governing body, which may provide for different sums in circuit courts and district courts. The assessment shall be collected by the clerk of the court in which the action is filed, remitted to the treasurer of the appropriate county, city, or town, and held by such treasurer subject to disbursements by the governing body to a local law-enforcement agency solely to fund software, hardware, and associated equipment costs for the implementation and maintenance of an electronic summons system. The imposition of a town assessment shall replace any county fee that would otherwise apply.
$0 - $5 All No Other Delegation to municipality
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-299.2(C) Alcohol and substance abuse screening and assessment for designated Class 1 misdemeanor convictions.
C. If the screening indicates that the person has a substance abuse or dependence problem, an assessment shall be completed and if the assessment confirms that the person has a
+ See more
substance abuse or dependence problem, as a condition of a suspended sentence and probation, the court shall order the person to complete the substance abuse education and intervention component, or both as appropriate, of the local alcohol safety action program or such other agency providing treatment programs or services, if available, such as in the opinion of the court would be best suited to the needs of the person. If the referral is to the local alcohol safety action program, the program may charge a fee for the education and intervention component, or both, not to exceed $300, based upon the defendant's ability to pay.
$0 - $300 All No Other Delegation to local alcohol safety action program
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-160.1(D) Boarding or riding transportation district train without lawful payment of fare; penalty.
D. Any person who has been convicted of violating subsection C shall be civilly liable to the Commonwealth and the transportation district for all costs incurred in prosecuting such person.
+ See more
The costs shall be limited to actual expenses, including the base wage of one employee acting as a witness for the Commonwealth and suit costs, but the total costs recovered shall not exceed the maximum amount of the fine that may be imposed for the offense.
costs incurred in prosecuting, not to exceed maximum fine for the offense
Misdemeanor Yes Other N/A
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-251.01(A) Substance abuse screening and assessment for felony convictions.
The services agency or program may require the person entering such program or services under the provisions of this section to pay a fee for the education and treatment component,
+ See more
or both, based upon the defendant's ability to pay.
a fee for the education and treatment component
Felony No Other Delegation to services agency or program
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-426 Citation; failure to appear; penalty.
Any person failing to appear or otherwise comply with the command of a citation shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine
+ See more
of not more than five hundred dollars, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than three months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
$0 - $500 Misdemeanor No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-436 Infraction, penalties.
Any person guilty of an infraction when a penalty is not otherwise specified shall: (1) For the first offense be fined not more than one hundred dollars; (2) upon a
+ See more
second conviction for the same infraction within a two-year period be fined not less than one hundred dollars and not more than three hundred dollars; and (3) upon a third or subsequent conviction for the same infraction within a two-year period be fined not less than two hundred dollars and not more than five hundred dollars.
$0 - $500 All Yes All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-1463.06 Property subject to forfeiture; hearing.
In addition to the penalties provided in the Child Pornography Prevention Act, a sentencing court may order that any money, securities, negotiable instruments, firearms, conveyances, or electronic communication devices as
+ See more
defined in section 28-833 or any equipment, components, peripherals, software, hardware, or accessories related to electronic communication devices be forfeited as a part of the sentence imposed if it finds by clear and convincing evidence adduced at a separate hearing in the same prosecution, conducted pursuant to section 28-1601, that any or all such property was derived from, used, or intended to be used to facilitate a violation of the Child Pornography Prevention Act.
All No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class I misdemeanor........ Maximum — not more than one year imprisonment, or one thousand dollars fine, or both Minimum — none
$0 - $1000

Class I Misdemeanor
Misdemeanor No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class II misdemeanor....... Maximum — six months imprisonment, or one thousand dollars fine, or both Minimum — none
$0 - $1000

Class II Misdemeanor
Misdemeanor No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class III misdemeanor...... Maximum — three months imprisonment, or five hundred dollars fine, or both Minimum — none
$0 - $500

Class III Misdemeanor
Misdemeanor No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class IIIA misdemeanor..... Maximum — seven days imprisonment, five hundred dollars fine, or both Minimum — none
$0 - $500

Class IIIA Misdemeanor
Misdemeanor No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class IV misdemeanor....... Maximum — no imprisonment, five hundred dollars fine Minimum — none
$0 - $500

Class IV Misdemeanor
Misdemeanor No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class V misdemeanor........ Maximum — no imprisonment, one hundred dollars fine Minimum — none
$0 - $100

Class V Misdemeanor
Misdemeanor No All Yes
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class W misdemeanor....... Driving under the influence or implied consent First conviction Maximum — sixty days imprisonment and five hundred dollars fine Mandatory minimum — seven days imprisonment and five hundred dollars fine
$500

Class W Misdemeanor - First Conviction
Misdemeanor Yes All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class W misdemeanor....... Driving under the influence or implied consent Second conviction Maximum — six months imprisonment and five hundred dollars fine Mandatory minimum — thirty days imprisonment and five hundred dollars fine
$500

Class W Misdemeanor - Second Conviction
Misdemeanor Yes All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-106 (1) Misdemeanors; classification of penalties; sentences; where served.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, misdemeanors are divided into seven classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class W misdemeanor....... Driving under the influence or implied consent Third conviction Maximum — one year imprisonment and one thousand dollars fine Mandatory minimum — ninety days imprisonment and one thousand dollars fine
$1000

Class W Misdemeanor - Third Conviction
Misdemeanor Yes All No
BS-+-Light-Rounded-Square
Add to Dashboard

+ Create New

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-105 (1) Felonies; classification of penalties; sentences; where served; eligibility for probation.
(1) For purposes of the Nebraska Criminal Code and any statute passed by the Legislature after the date of passage of the code, felonies are divided into ten classes which
+ See more
are distinguished from one another by the following penalties which are authorized upon conviction:Class III felony Maximum — four years imprisonment and two years post-release supervision or twenty-five thousand dollars fine, or both Minimum — none for imprisonment and nine months post-release supervision if imprisonment is imposed
$0 - $25000

Class III Felony
Felony No All Yes